Media centre

Rallies of 2017 overview

16-18 June

Cyprus Rally


With its origins dating back to 1970, the Cyprus Rally returned to the ERC roster in 2014 for the first time since 1999 when Nicosia hosted the thrilling action. To mark the occasion, the Cypriot capital was transformed into an exciting street stage, which included a section through the United Nations-controlled Buffer Zone between the historic city’s Greek Cypriot and Turkish inhabited areas. Also counting for FIA Middle East and Cypriot championship points, this year’s rally has new start and finish locations in Larnaca and Ayia Napa respectively, while the new mid-June date will mean punishing ambient and ground temperatures.

Alexey Lukyanuk produced a perfect conclusion to his ERC campaign, taking victory on the CNP ASFALISTIKI Cyprus Rally and also winning the Love Cyprus Golden Stage to earn a total of 32,000 euros in prize money. Lukyanuk mastered the mixed-surface challenge of the Cyprus Rally in his Ford Fiesta R5 fitted with Pirelli tyres. The Russian driver led from the start, won 11 of the 13 stages and finished up 2m12.2s clear. His second win of the season confirmed Lukyanuk as the championship runner-up, after he had come into the final round with only a two-point advantage over Ralfs Sirmacis. For his win, Lukyanuk received 7,000 euros as part of the prize money awarded by Eurosport Events on every round of the ERC, and he earned a cool 25,000-euro bonus with the fastest time on the event-closing Love Cyprus Golden Stage, which had a total prize fund of 60,000 euros pledged by the Cyprus Tourism Organisation. The cancellation of the penultimate stage of the rally for safety reasons meant this became a single-stage dash-for-cash with a stunning finish line on the beach. Finishing a superb second place was Marijan Griebel, who was making his four-wheel-drive debut in a ŠKODA Fabia R5, a prize drive for winning this year’s ERC Junior Championship. With only 50 kilometres in the Pirelli-shod car beforehand, the German prospect impressed from the beginning with his speed, enjoying a close battle with fellow ERC Junior graduate Nikolay Gryazin over second before the Latvian teenager crashed out on stage six. From there, Griebel made sure of second position, seeing off the threat of three-time 2016 round-winner Ralfs Sirmacis. The 22-year-old Latvian, also an ERC Junior graduate, was playing catch-up after an overly-cautious start in two challenging night stages that opened the rally on Friday, but won two stages on the following morning as he climbed up to third position in his MICHELIN-equipped ŠKODA. Dávid Botka became the driver with the most ERC starts in 2016 with his ninth appearance in Cyprus, and the 2015 ERC2 champion concluded his first season at the top level with a second fourth place finish in his privately-run Citroën DS3 R5. Local driver Christos Demosthenous controlled ERC2 from start to finish as Murat Bostanci claimed his second ERC3 victory of the year as Castrol Ford Team Turkey locked out the podium.

EVENT ESSENTIALS (all timings local and subject to change)
19h00, Friday 16 June, Larnica Promenade (Foinikoudes)
Finishes: 18h00, Sunday 18 June, Ayia Napa Central Square (located adjacent to the harbour)
Headquarters: Filoxenia Conference centre, 17 Thrakis Street, CY-1311 Nicosia
Service park: Lieutenant-General Evangelos Florakis Street, Nicosia
ERC appearances (since 2004 restructuring): 3 (2014-2016)
Stages: 14
Stage distance: 219.74 kilometres (117.40 kilometres leg one, 102.34 kilometres leg two)
Liaison: 504.37 kilometres
Total: 724.11 kilometres
Surface: Asphalt and gravel

MEDIA INFORMATION (all timings local and subject to change)
Media Accreditation Office location:
Filoxenia Conference Centre, 17 Thrakis Street, CY-1311 Nicosia
Opening times: 12h00-20h00, Wednesday 14 June; 10h00-22h00, Thursday 15 June; 08h30-00h00, Friday 16 June; 06h30-00h00, Saturday 17 June; 08h00-23h00, Sunday 18 June
Media Centre location: Filoxenia Conference Centre, Nicosia
Opening times: 12h00-20h00, Wednesday 14 June; 10h00-22h00, Thursday 15 June; 08h30-00h00, Friday 16 June; 06h30-00h00, Saturday 17 June; 08h00-23h00, Sunday 18 June

MEDIA EVENTS (all timings local and subject to change)
Pre-event briefing (all photographers must attend)
: TBA, Media Centre
Free Practice (for priority drivers):
07h00-09h00, Yeri village (4.85 kilometres)
Qualifying Stage (for priority drivers): 10h03, Yeri village (4.85 kilometres)
Shakedown (for all drivers): 10h30-12h00, Yeri village (4.85 kilometres)
Start order selection: 13h30, Filoxenia Conference Centre, Nicosia
Pre-rally press conference: 14h00, Filoxenia Conference Centre, Nicosia
Autograph session: TBA, Larnica Promenade (Foinikoudes)
Ceremonial start: From 18h30, Larnica Promenade (Foinikoudes)
Post-rally press conference:
18h30, Ayia Napa Central Square

Television coverage: Daily highlights, rally review and Inside ERC magazine show on Eurosport and Eurosport Player, plus additional coverage on a number of other networks
ERC Radio: Live throughout the event at or through the ERC app
Results, standings, live timing and text commentary:
Rights-free images: Register at
Event media contact: Petros Soutzis,, +357 99643743

Alexey Lukyanuk/Alexey Arnautov (Ford Fiesta R5)
2015: Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (Ford Fiesta R5)
2014: Yazeed Al-Rajhi/Michael Orr (Ford Fiesta RRC)
2013: Nasser Al-Attiyah/Giovanni Bernacchini (Ford Fiesta RRC)*
2012: Nasser Al-Attiyah/Giovanni Bernacchini (Ford Fiesta RRC)*
*Non-European championship event​