Media centre

Rallies of 2017 overview

3-5 August

Rally Rzeszow


Rally Rzeszow’s history might date back to 1970 but its 25th edition in 2016 was perhaps its most significant moment yet when the asphalt event made its first ERC appearance. A regular on the Polish and Slovakian national championship calendars, Rally Rzeszow takes place on narrow, winding sealed-surface roads in the foothills of the Carpathian Mountains in southeast Poland with steep climbs and tricky descents commonplace. One stage through the city of Rzeszów, which is close to the Ukranian and Slovakian borders, forms part of the itinerary, while reigning ERC champion Kajetan Kajetanowicz was an event regular in the past.

Kajetan Kajetanowicz secured a spectacular first win of 2016 on home ground, effectively leading from start to finish in his LOTOS Rally Team Ford Fiesta R5. He was headed after being held up by a competitor than had spun ahead of him on Friday morning’s first stage. That time loss was later adjusted by officials, handing the lead back to Kajetanowicz, and he opened up an advantage of over 30 seconds on French asphalt ace Bryan Bouffier (a record four-time Rzeszow winner) going into the final day. In a stunning drive on Saturday’s first stage on damp roads, Kajetanowicz was 18s faster than his chief rival, and he finished the rally 46s clear. Bouffier, driving a Citroën DS3 R5, was a close rival to Kajetanowicz for much of Friday, but a spin during the afternoon cost him 20 seconds. After a subdued start to the final day, the three-time Polish champion won all three stages in the afternoon despite damaging his radiator in an impact on the first of those. He and co-driver Xavier Panseri used chewing gum as a temporary fix to get the car to the finish. Grzegorz Grzyb, a two-time Rally Rzeszow winner who would go on to become Polish champion, quickly lost touch with the top two when he suffered a puncture on Friday’s second stage on his Rufa Sport Fiesta R5, but he was able to hold third position until the end with a consistent performance. Jakub Brzeziński held fourth place from Friday’s second stage and was able to match the pace of Grzyb ahead of him, but would fall to fifth on the very last stage when he went off the road under pressure from a charging Łukasz Habaj, then the reigning Polish champion. He lost 2m40s when he slid into a ditch at the start of the rally’s first full stage (the cause of Kajetanowicz’s delay) but his stage times were never outside of the top three thereafter. Tomasz Kasperczyk, Wojciech Chuchała (the ERC2 winner) and Jarosław Kołtun were covered by one tenth of a second on the final stage as they secured places six to eight respectively. Nikolay Gryazin won ERC3 ahead of László Német, who lost time to a puncture but claimed second place ahead of Murat Bostanci and Alex Filip.

EVENT ESSENTIALS (all timings local and subject to change)
18h00, Thursday 3 August, Millenium Hall (Rzeszów)
Finishes: 17h30, Saturday 5 August, Market Square (Rzeszów)
Headquarters: Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Rzeszów, ul. Kopisto 1, Rzeszów
Service park: Rzeszów University of Technology Campus, ul. Akademicka, Rzeszów
ERC appearances (since 2004 restructuring): 1 (2016)
Stages: 11
Stage distance: 214.63 kilometres (100.83 kilometres leg one, 113.80 kilometres leg two)
Liaison: 405.28 kilometres
Total: 619.91 kilometres
Surface: Asphalt
Entry list and itinerary:

MEDIA INFORMATION (all timings local and subject to change)
Media Accreditation Office location:
Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Rzeszów, ul. Kopisto 1, Rzeszów
Opening times: 10h00-18h00, Tuesday 1 August; 12h00-20h00, Wednesday 2 August; 08h00-20h00, Thursday 3 August
Media Centre location: Hotel Hilton Garden Inn Rzeszów, ul. Kopisto 1, Rzeszów
Opening times: 10h00-18h00, Tuesday 1 August; 12h00-20h00, Wednesday 2 August; 08h00-20h00, Thursday 3 August; 08h30-23h30, Friday 4 August; 07h00-21h30, Saturday 5 August

MEDIA EVENTS (all timings local and subject to change)
Pre-event safety briefing (all photographers, TV crews must attend)
: 18h30, Media Centre, Rzeszów
Free Practice (for priority drivers):
09h00-11h00, Niechobrz (3.37 kilometres)
Qualifying Stage (for priority drivers): 12h15, Niechobrz (3.37 kilometres)
Shakedown (for non-priority drivers): 13h00-15h00, Niechobrz (3.37 kilometres)
Pre-rally press conference: 16h30, Media Centre, Rzeszów
Start order selection: 17h00, Millenium Hall, Rzeszów
FIA Action for Road Safety photograph: 17h15, Millenium Hall, Rzeszów
Autograph session: 17h30, Millenium Hall, Rzeszów
Ceremonial start: From 18h00, Millenium Hall, Rzeszów
Finish podium:
17h30, Market Square, Rzeszów
Post-rally press conference: 19h00, Media Centre, Rzeszów

​Television coverage: Daily highlights, rally review and Inside ERC magazine show on Eurosport and Eurosport Player, plus additional coverage on a number of other networks
ERC Radio: Live throughout the event at or through the ERC app
Results, standings, live timing and text commentary:
Rights-free images: Register at
Event media contact: Piotr Kłeczek,, +48 502751440

Kajetan Kajetanowicz/Jarek Baran (Ford Fiesta R5)
2015: Bryan Bouffier/Thibaut de la Haye (Ford Fiesta Proto)*
2014: Maciej Rzeźnik/Przemysław Mazur (Ford Fiesta R5)*
2013: Kajetan Kajetanowicz/Jarek Baran (Subaru Impreza STi R4)*
2012: Kajetan Kajetanowicz/Jarek Baran (Subaru Impreza STi R4)*
*Non-European championship event