Media centre

Rallies of 2018 overview


22-24 March 2018, Ponta Delgada, São Miguel (gravel)

Based on the mid-Atlantic archipelago’s largest island of São Miguel, the rally celebrated its half-century in 2015 and remains one of the most spectacular events on the international calendar. Stages criss-cross breath-taking scenery and lush countryside and are characterised by their sandy surface and narrow and undulating nature. And because the timed tests are often no wider than the width of a car, there is simply no margin for error, particularly on the Sete Cidades test along the rim of a volcanic crater lake. Changeable weather is also a factor with conditions switching from sunshine to showers and fog patches.

Event eligibility:

FIA European Rally Championship 2018, round 1 of 8
FIA ERC Junior Under 28 Championship 2018, round 1 of 6
FIA ERC Junior Under 27 Championship 2018, round 1 of 6

Also counting for...

FIA ERC2, FIA ERC3, FIA European Rally Championship for Teams, ERC Nations' Cup, ERC Ladies' Trophy

Previous winners:

2017: Bruno Magalhães/Hugo Magalhães (ŠKODA Fabia R5)
2016: Ricardo Moura/António Costa (Ford Fiesta R5)
2015: Craig Breen/Scott Martin (Peugeot 208 T16)
2014: Bernardo Sousa/Hugo Magalhães (Ford Fiesta RRC)
2013: Jan Kopecký/Pavel Dresler (ŠKODA Fabia S2000)


Azores Airlines Rallye-png
Azores Airlines Rallye-png

01 Azores Airlines Rallye-jpg
01 Azores Airlines Rallye-jpg

Download all visuals