Media centre

Press release

25 APRIL 2017


*Huge 68-car entry list for European counter, plus 57 national runners
*ERC Junior Under 27 and ERC Junior Under 28 attract new recruits
*Top-of-the-range R5 cars total 27 for second event of exciting ERC season

The popularity of the all-action FIA European Rally Championship has once again been underlined, this time with the Rally Islas Canarias organising team confirming a 125-car entry for the second event of the 2017 ERC season.

Sixty-eight crews will tackle the ERC section of the famous asphalt rally with 57 competitors from the Canary Islands and mainland Spain also in action in a separate national-level event from 4-6 May.

Bruno Magalhães, current leader of the ERC following his standout victory on the Azores Airlines Rallye earlier this month, tops the list with ERC Junior Under 28 Championship contenders Marijan Griebel, Pepe López and Nikolay Gryazin seeded second, third and fourth respectively. Last year’s Rally Islas Canarias winner Alexey Lukyanuk is the fifth seed, one place ahead of double ERC champion Kajetan Kajetanowicz.

Other entry list highlights include:

*Multiple ERC event winner Bryan Bouffier
*French asphalt champion Sylvain Michel
*ACCR Czech Team trio Dominik Brož, Jan Černý and Filip Mareš
*Polish champion Grzegorz Grzyb
*New ERC Junior U28 recruits from Spain: Cristian García, Cristóbal García, Surhayen Pernía
*Castrol Ford Team Turkey duo Buǧra Banaz and Murat Bostanci
*Antonín Tlusťák as part of an expanded Botka-Tlusťák Racing line-up
*Strong ERC2 line-up featuring Gilbert Bannout and Tibor Érdi, plus leader Luis Pimentel
*ERC Junior Experience graduate Sébastien Bedoret in ERC Junior U27
*Factory Opel ERC Junior U27 drivers Chris Ingram and Jari Huttunen
*ERC3 newcomers Timo van der Marel and Dariusz Poloński
*ERC Ladies’ Trophy contenders Emma Falcón, Tamara Molinaro and Catie Munnings

Eighteen nationalities will be represented on Rally Islas Canarias, 27 R5 cars will compete while 41 registered ERC drivers will be in action including 10 ERC Junior Under 28 contenders and 11 in ERC Junior Under 27. The full ERC Rally Islas Canarias entry list and other event information can be found by clicking here.



ERC Alexey Lukyanuk.jpg
ERC Alexey Lukyanuk

ERC Bruno Magalhaes.jpg
ERC Bruno Magalhaes

ERC Marijan Griebel.jpg
ERC Marijan Griebel

Download all visuals

Press contacts

Press enquiries:
Richard Rodgers
+44 7833470541
TV enquiries:
Pascal Petit
Elise Lelias
Vianney Castillo